Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson

Representing the 30th District of TEXAS

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson Introduces National Nurses Week Resolution

May 11, 2016
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC - (Wednesday, May 11th, 2016) - Today, Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson introduced the National Nurses Week Resolution in observance of National Nurses Week. In its 26th year, National Nurses Week is dedicated to giving recognition to the vast contributions nurses make to the healthcare profession. It runs from May 6th, National Nurses Day, to May 12th, Florence Nightingale’s birthday.

Congresswoman Johnson said: “As a non-practicing registered nurse and member of the Congressional Nursing Caucus, I am acutely aware of how valuable nurses are to the medical system, patients, and our society. Whether in hospitals, nursing homes, community clinics, or any other setting, nurses are integral to patient care. Nurses are our greatest resource in eliminating health disparities and alleviating chronic disease as they exemplify and lead prevention and public health efforts.  This resolution is a small token of gratitude and recognition for all the hard work nurses perform.”

There are more than 3.4 million registered nurses in the United States, making them the largest constituency of health professionals in the country.  Nurses are at the forefront of reducing health disparities, ensuring safety in the medical space, and knowing best how to communicate complicated matters to distressed patients. 

The National Nurses Week Resolution has 30 bipartisan original cosponsors: Co-sponsors include Democratic and Republican Representatives: Corrine Brown (D-FL), Lois Capps(D-CA) Scott Peters (D-CA), Renee Ellmers (R-NC) Bennie Thompson (D-MS), Yvette Clark (D-NY), David Joyce(R-OH), Donna F. Edwards (D-MD), Gwen Moore (D-WI), Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Rick Larsen (D-WA), Mike Doyle (D-PA), John Lewis (D-GA), Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Bobby Rush (D-IL), Keith Ellison (D-MN), Madeleine Bordallo (D-GU), Stephen Lynch (D-MA), Diane Black (R-TN), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Raul Ruiz (D-CA), Debbie Dingell (D-MI), Mark Pocan (D-WI), Rodney Davis (R-IL), Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D-MP), André Carson (D-IN), and David McKinley (R-WV).



U.S. Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson is the ranking member of the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology and the highest-ranking Texan on the House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure. She represents the 30th Congressional District of Texas, which includes Downtown Dallas, Fair Park, Kessler Park, Old East Dallas, Pleasant Grove, South Dallas & South Oak Cliff; all of Cedar Hill, DeSoto, Duncanville, Hutchins, Lancaster & Wilmer and parts of Ferris, Glenn Heights, South Grand Prairie, Oak Lawn, Ovilla, Uptown/Victory Park and West Dallas.