Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

U.S. Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson, Representing the 30th District of Texas


Feb 4, 2010
Press Release

“Dorie Miller” stamp unveiled with three others at United States Navy Memorial

Washington, DC – Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson gave remarks at this morning’s dedication of the Distinguished Sailors collectible postal stamps, which honor four American sailors who served with distinction in the 20th century: William S. Sims, Arleigh A. Burke, John McCloy and Doris “Dorie” Miller.  Congresswoman Johnson has been working to honor Petty Officer Miller with the Congressional Medal of Honor since she first came to Congress in 1993.

“For more than 50 years, Members of Congress have been working to give Petty Officer Doris Miller a Congressional Medal of Honor,” Congresswoman Johnson said.  “Eighteen years after I first came to the House, we are still working on it.  In my judgment, Dorie Miller saved our country from invasion, and as long as I live, I will do what I can to honor this great American hero.”

On December 7, 1941, Petty Officer Miller was aboard the USS West Virginia, which was docked in Pearl Harbor.  When his ship was hit, Miller dragged his wounded commander out of the line of fire.  He then manned an anti-aircraft machine gun, and though he had no formal training with naval artillery, he successfully shot down enemy planes.


U.S. Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson is the highest-ranking Texan on the House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure and a senior member of the Science Committee. She represents the 30th Congressional District of Texas, which, includes Downtown Dallas, Fair Park, Oak Lawn, Old East Dallas, Pleasant Grove, & South Oak Cliff; all of Balch Springs, DeSoto, Hutchins, Lancaster & Wilmer and parts of Cedar Hill, Duncanville, Ferris, Glenn Heights and Ovilla.